ss_blog_claim=a290fbfb2dabf576491bbfbeda3c15bc

Monday, September 26, 2011

Big Brother is HERE

"But logging out of Facebook only de-authorizes your browser from the web application, a number of cookies (including your account number)are still sent along to all requests to facebook.com. ***Even if you are logged out, Facebook still knows and can track every page you visit.
The only solution is to delete every Facebook cookie in your browser,or to use a separate browser for Facebook interactions."

Chrome "Incognito" mode should be a help dealing with this.
Of course, most users don't know what Facebook is doing, so they wouldn't be the wiser.

I view Facebook's new "track everything you do" Open Graph technology to be among the most essentially privacy-invasive -- and potentially dangerous to users -- development, perhaps in the history of the Net.
The major problem is that by eliminating the need for persons to explictly decide what to share, users are sending out a continuous "stream of consciousness" that has little or no contextual underpinning, and can be easily misconstrued either in real-time or retrospectively.

--Lauren--
Lauren Weinstein (lauren@vortex.com): http://www.vortex.com/lauren
Post a Comment
 
ss_blog_claim=a290fbfb2dabf576491bbfbeda3c15bc